Self-Pub vs. Traditional

Some people think that traditional publishing is the way to go, others say self-publishing is easier and gets your work out their a lot quicker. I guess it just depends on your preference. I have read a few articles on the subject and one points out that trying your hand at traditional publishing first is a good idea. Then self-publish later on. You may get turned down many times, but you will become a better writer in the long run and you will have submitted you work many times.

I debated on whether to go the traditional route. I had sent in a story a very long time ago to a New York City publisher and was turned down. Of course I don’t blame them, I knew nothing about the publishing world and I wasn’t a great writer either. Just because you get A’s in Composition and great comments on your writing, doesn’t mean that you will be a great author further down the road.

I did some research before I chose self-publishing. To me, eBooks were a new thing and I didn’t know much about them, other than you read them on a tablet or something similar. However, when I researched Amanda Hocking and read her story, I wanted to be a self-published author too. So that’s what I did and here I am. I also read another article explaining the disadvantages of self-publishing. You have to do your own editing, unless you hire someone. You have to pay to get them printed up, if that is what you choose and they have to be meticulously edited and formatted. Self-publishing does get your book out their a lot quicker, but there is a lot work behind doing it yourself.

I haven’t regretted self-publishing and I may contact a traditional publisher in the future, but for right now, I get to use my imagination, read and edit it myself, make changes and move on. It is hard work, but it’s worth it! Now you decide.

Leave a Reply

