Is Writing Cathartic?

Dictionary.com points out that Catharsis is “the purging of the emotions or relieving of emotional tensions, especially through certain kinds of art, as tragedy or music”. I suppose writing could be considered cathartic. Some writers have that need to write, that all consuming feeling that getting down the ideas needs to happen NOW or I will forget and then all is lost. I can see that. I wish that my characters would give me a little something more that I can work with. Although I just finished a bit on my last book, it’s really not enough. But then again, anything is better than nothing and I shouldn’t let it get me down. Eventually, it will all come to me, I will self-publish the book, and I will move on to the next project.

 

http://www.dictionary.com/browse/catharsis

 

Leave a Reply

