Love and Friendship

I went and seen Love and Friendship this past weekend at the theater. For those of  you who don’t know, this is based on Jane Austen’s Lady Susan. I love Jane Austen, but Lady Susan was a bit tedious to read. I don’t care for epistolary novels. They are dry and boring, and lifeless, at least to me. I like a little action and adventure.

I watched the previews and the movie looked really good, but truthfully it wasn’t as good as I thought it would be. Don’t get me wrong, it was a well put together film. The cast of characters couldn’t be better and it did bring Lady Susan to life. They just took the letters that were written in Austen’s novella to life in dialogue instead of letter form. The movie was humorous and comedic and Kate Beckinsale did a wonderful job of playing Lady Susan.

I think the best performance way played by Tom Bennett, who played Sir James Martin. He was hilarious, goofy, and off the wall. He did a splendid job! Overall, the movie was good, I would give it a B+. Anything the Austen writes and then it is adapted to a movie is worth going to see.

Leave a Reply

